Michael Sam Set To Sign With The Dallas Cowboys

I know I posted about this initially back in the Spring since Michael is the first openly gay NFL player, but I haven’t posted since, though I’ve been following the story. I am a fan of football, just not a fanatic. I don’t play fantasy football nor do I leave my television on ESPN all season long. lol

For those who don’t know, Mr Sam was picked during the draft by the St Louis Rams. He was cut from their roster last Saturday as the teams are allowed only a certain number of players. He wasn’t picked up for their ten man practice squad. Some people believe it is due to the NFL’s homophobia while teams are defending themselves claiming it is that they don’t want the media hype that he brings to the team.

Seems the Dallas Cowboys are willing to take the media risk.

Michael Sam, the first out gay player drafted into the NFL, is poised to sign with the Dallas Cowboys, according to multiple reports.

Sam will be brought to Dallas for a physical on Wednesday and then likely assigned to the Cowboys’ practice squad, according to ESPN’s Adam Schefter and Cyd Zeigler of OutSports.

Sam was cut by the St. Louis Rams, the team that drafted him, on Saturday afternoon and was passed over by the remaining 31 NFL teams over the weekend. He became a free agent when no team signed him to its practice squad.

Full story

signature